Another Utah guy, new to CNG

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Utah guy, new to CNG

Hey everyone, I'm a new CNG driver here in Utah. Actually, I haven't even purchased a vehicle yet, however I'm right on the verge, debating on exactly which model to get... most likely between a Civic and a Cavalier, or a Camry if one falls within my price range. I'm a Toyota lover above all else. I'm from Utah County and am currently attending BYU in both Provo and their SLC center, so my main motivation for purchasing an AFV is for reducing commuting costs. I'm very interested in learning more about CNG and am excited to be a part of the forum and hope to be a good contribution some day when I become more familiar with it all.

If anyone has suggestions as to who to get in contact with who can help me find an 04 Cavalier or Civic, I'd much appreciate it!
    Last edited by snoobies; 01-12-2010, 11:33 AM.

Re: Another Utah guy, new to CNG

I'll assume your budget is under $10k

04 cav -- goverment auto auctions
    GX --eBay
    Camry -- dream on...
    02 GX
    01 GX
    03 Crown Vic
    06 GX
    Home Fueler

Comment

Now is a great time to be buying a used CNG car as prices are depressed. First EDUCATE yourself on known problems with specific models of cng vehicles - - ie (a)some Honda Civics may have CVT transmission problems ; (b) Fords may have CompuValve problems (pickups or cars) (c)older cng vehicles may have tanks nearing expiration (thus soon may have to spend big bucks for updated tanks), etc.

Constantly scour Ebay (must have an account to look at Completed Sales) and Craigslist to see what everything is selling for - - use Google to search CL with model you want - - ie type in:
      civic cng site:craigslist.org (. . . . or)
      camry cng site:craigslist.org (. . . or)
      ford cng site:craigslist.org (. . or)
      cavalier cng site:craigslist.org