Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from Finland

Hello Folks,

I've been driving with OEM CNG Volvo V70 for 1,5 years now and have been looking for a place to chat with other CNG drivers. This forum looks very promising and I look forward bringing my two cents into the discussion of this fascinating technology.

Some difficulties which I have had with CNG have been resolved and now I'm a happy camper with a reliable, clean running car with low fuel costs. I'm interested to learn more about how to utilize the high knocking resistance of CNG in order to increase the engine power. Currently SAAB is already offering a turbocharged flexifuel model which delivers some extra muscle on ethanol. And ethanol has only about 104 octane number where as CNG has a whopping 130!!! It is a crying shame that the CNG BiFuel engine has to limit the compression ratio according to the gas octane. Perhaps in the future along with the incresing number of CNG drivers, we will be able to enjoy the full potential of this great, clean fuel with more sophisticated engine systems.

But in the meantime, let's enjoy the numerous benefits CNG is already offering today for the enlightened people, the CNG drivers!

Best Regards,
    Hewey

Re: Greetings from Finland

Welcome, What types of cng vehicles are available to the public,and are they more costly than a standard petrol or diesel version of the same? Are there incentives offered by the government to purchase or convert vehicles to cng?

Comment

Thanks, at least the following OEM cng cars can be currently purchased as new:

VW Caddy EcoFuel
      VW Caddy Maxi Ecofuel
      Iveco Daily
      Mercedes Benz B170 NGT
      Mercedes Benz E 200 NGT
      Mercedes Benz Sprinter
      Opel Combo
      Opel Zafira

Several older models can be easily imported from other countries. I bought mine from Germany. Sadly Volvo does not sell anymore new CNG models : (