Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Introduction from the Giant Side of Texas!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction from the Giant Side of Texas!

I put this in the wrong spot. I moved ot to introductions.
    Sorry
    As a new member I would like to introduce myself to the forum.
    I have been researching CNG and look forward to the forum as a springboard. I have owned LPG pickups and a tractor but got tired of the Texas Road Use Tax hassle and trying to find LPG when away from home. I am a construction inspector and spent months away from home and did not know where I would be and it just got to be too much trouble to keep up with LPG. So I got a diesel and kept that until the price of #2 drove me to a Suzuki Sidekick.
    While I have real issues with Boone, I do see CNG as part of the solution to energy independence for the US.
    Out here on the Giant Side of Texas, I do not know anyone with a CNG vehicle or where there is a place to refuel one if you had it. I know in El Paso there are CNG stations, but when working out there I saw few CNG vehicles except for City of El Paso vehicles.
    I want to find out what is required for installing these systems and what code they are constructed to. I would like to get input from members on who has the best refueling systems and who to talk to.
    Curtis Stewart

Re: Introduction from the Giant Side of Texas!

I am also in Texas and for your general information, CNG is also subject to the road use tax. It is the same as with gasoline and diesel except that you pre-pay it per year instead of at the pump.

In El Paso, from what I've been told, there are no public accessible CNG stations.

I have not seen any CNG stations of any significant size in any area except for the DFW metroplex and some in Houston.