Looking for advice on CNG vehicle purchase

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for advice on CNG vehicle purchase

Hi folks, I'm a CNG newbie here. I've been offered a CNG truck at a bargain price. It's at a dealership, and they can't get it to run. The truck is a 2014 Ford 5.4L with only 28,000 miles on it. The thing quite literally looks brand new. It's been sitting at the dealership for over a year, and when I went to look at it it would crank but not start. We determined that it was out of fuel. They had it towed to the nearest CNG filling station, and by the time it got back to the dealership all the fuel had leaked out. It has a 35 gal total capacity with three tanks. As I said, I can pick this thing up for less than half of what of would sell for if it was a gasoline vehicle. What are my options here? What are the approximate costs involved (worst case).

Welcome to CNGchat!

The likely culprit is a faulty electrical circuit to the tank valves. Most tanks have an electronic solenoid built into the valve on the neck of the tank. You should hear an audible click there when the key is turned on, energizing the solenoid with 12V DC power - using the same circuit as this truck would have used to energize the fuel pump relay if it were a gasoline vehicle. This would also account for the fuel gauge showing empty: there is no high pressure flowing from the tanks to the pressure regulator and sensor/transducer. If it was leaking gas you would have smelled it.