Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Buying '09 GX, Should I buy Honda extended warranty? at what price?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying '09 GX, Should I buy Honda extended warranty? at what price?

I am buying my first NGV an '09 GX. I need opinions on extended warranties and prices paid. I am looking at a Honda 7yr/100k mi extended warranty with no deductibles. Generally I would never buy an extended warranty, buy I am a newbie on the NGV front. Help me out here. Thanks!

Re: Buying '09 GX, Should I buy Honda extended warranty? at what price?

Buy the Hondacare warranty--not an aftermarket. You may find most aftermarket warranties exclude CNG components, Hondacare does not. Most shops won't be up to speed on the CNG Civic, but any Honda dealer can get factory support during repair if necessary. Buy the warranty during your last month of the factory warranty to give you the maximum amount of time on the extended warranty. It starts on the day you buy it so the longer you wait, the better. I bought 7 years, 60K miles (I don't drive that far) with a $100 deductible for $1095. The dealer has some latitude with the price so you can haggle. Good piece of mind when the regulator or tank valve fails down the road .

Comment

I thought all the HondaCare warranties started from the day you purchase the car. I purchased the HondaCare 8 year 120K miles with no deductible for $995 from a dealer back east. The dealer in California wanted almost twice as much for it. Someone told me it was prob not a real HondaCare warranty but I have verified thru Honda that it is the same as what you can purchase from the California dealers with all the same coverage. Honda indicated that they were trying to stop dealers from selling them but there were legal issues that were stopping them from stopping the dealers. Anyway, I thought the $995 was priced well enough go ahead and get it. However, the standard California warranty is pretty comprehensive.