07 Honda GX won't start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 07 Honda GX won't start

I just filled up my Honda at the utility fuel station, and stopped for an hour to shop. The car had trouble starting up as if it was flooded or that it didn't have the proper fuel mixture. It did eventually start after waiting a minute or so, but I'm not sure what the cause could be or if something needs to be serviced. I replaced the fuel filters six months ago (approx 7,000-10,000 miles) as well as the spark plugs. Perhaps I got some bad moisture from the utility.

Any ideas from the GX mechanics out there? This is the wife's car, so I need to keep it running.

Andy

Re: 07 Honda GX won't start

Hello Andy,

I am not a mechanic for Civic GX but I do own a GX and rest are Honda's. So I have a good amount of exprience with Honda's. First of all changing the spark plugs was unnecessary and you just threw OEM factory plugs. You don't need to change spark plugs until 100,000 miles or do any other huge maintenance until 100,000 for newer models like 07. Refer to owner manual for service intervals and what needs to be at those intervals. If you don't have one you can go honda's website and look up scheduled intervals. About the Fuel Filter change please don't do it every 7,000 - 10,000 miles. You can wait until 20000 miles or longer. Most GX owners I speak with are not even aware of this filter and have never changed. Bascially all this fitler does is it takes out the water from the CNG. If you are using PG & E and other high quality Fill station they take most of the water and the impurites out. PG & E is the best as thier Gas only contains half pound of water per million square inch of CNG. They have on site filteration ever after the Gas is only already filtred. Sometimes it a few seconds for my Gx to start to in your case might have been the weather, or the valve didn't open right away to carry fuel into the engine compartment or moisture like you said. I believe its