Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Used '02 GX with 200K+ miles, worth the risk?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Used '02 GX with 200K+ miles, worth the risk?

Hey folks, I'm a newbie to CNG but a quasi old timer when it comes to fuel efficiency and working on cars. The opportunity opened or me to get a 2002 Civic GX with 200,000 miles on it. It has been maintained by a Honda only repair shop and the owner is friends with the person who worked on it and has all the records for the car. I have no idea how a CNG vehicle behaves with high miles. Does the MPG change with age? Are there major repairs that come up when they go that high? Any words of advice? I'm leaning on getting it, but certainly have my reservations. 2ยข from you veterans would be welcomed...

Thanks,
    -Mike

A quick insight into my MPG geek quotient:
    I have owned a few Geo Metros that I've averaged over 50mpg with, and I've replaced brakes, transmissions and engines on them. I currently own a stock 93 Civic DX which apart from brakes and CV boots, has never needed any work done on it. I've made it up to 51mpg on it, but usually average 44mpg.

Re: Used '02 GX with 200K+ miles, worth the risk?

Indeed there are a lot of expensive parts on the GX. CVT, HPR, injectors and coils are the major ones that go out, and these parts are very expensive.

I don't think the mileage changes much with age.

If you're after mileage, the GX may not be a good choice, in the 30+ range.

The major reasons to buy a GX are carpool lane access and/or home fueling.
    02 GX
    01 GX
    03 Crown Vic
    06 GX
    Home Fueler

Comment

Thanks for the feedback. What is the lifespan of most of these parts?

Comment

A lot less than 200k...
        02 GX
        01 GX
        03 Crown Vic
        06 GX
        Home Fueler

Comment