08 Civic GX front brakes issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 08 Civic GX front brakes issues

I've noticed this on several occasions, but have so far ignored it. Today though, it really annoyed me. While driving down hill, I had to brake from about 60 MPH to a standing stop. The front brakes on my wife's 08 Civic GX were very loud, almost a grinding sound and the entire car's front end vibrated severely. The car has 15k miles and she is not an aggressive driver, so the brake pads still have plenty of meat left on them. My 08 Civic GX behaves the same on this Hill. Come to think of it, my 2004 Honda Pilot also behaves this way. When I took my Pilot in for the first time for this problem, the dealer said my rotors were grooved as part of "normal wear". They re-surfaced them, and they have lasted well since then, though still behave sub-par during downhill braking. They are now at 61k miles and still have meat on them.

I am a previous VW driver and have to say that brakes on these new 2 GX's and my Pilot are definitely sub-par compared to a new VW. I stopped driving VW's because of constant reliability issues, and I hope Honda isn't headed in that direction. Having said that, I wonder if any of you have had issues with your Honda Civic GX brakes and what the dealer response has been. I know that if I spend over a grand on a performance braking kit, this problem will go away; I'm just annoyed that a new Honda doesn't come with better brakes.

Curtis, has anyone among your customers had a similar complaint?
    Adrian

Navy 2008 Civic GX (wife's)
    Silver 2012 Toyota Prius
    Grey 2012 Civic Natural Gas (mine)

Re: 08 Civic GX front brakes issues