CNG leak while engine is running

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CNG leak while engine is running

This is my first time posting here, so if I miss some etiquette, please forgive me..

I have a 2002 Chevy Bi-fuel Cavalier. Factory Installed. When the engine is running on CNG, there is a small leak. I only get about 25 mpg on CNG, so I guess it is leaking about 10-15% of the CNG as it is running. I don't have any experience with these engines and am trying to see if I can get it fixed on my own before the expensive 95$/hr diagnostic and repair.

Does anyone have any suggestions to troubleshoot this? Manuals for determining what is happening or a parts list so I can figure out what part goes where? Thanks for any help.

Mike
    Kearns, Utah

Re: CNG leak while engine is running

Believe me, if you were "leaking" 15% of your CNG, you'd smell it. It's the same for a gasoline engine...poor fuel economy. Start with the usual suspects.

Comment

Well, now that I got it registered and actually drive it, I have realized that it doesn't smell that bad all the time. It is mainly when the car starts up on CNG (no problems with normal gas). After that, I can't smell it any more really. I may have overguessed the leakage.

I don't know what the usual suspects are. I can't currently identify the car parts that comprise the CNG delivery aspect. Anyone have a good pointer to where I can learn about those?

I have tested the lines from the tank to the engine at the joints with dish soap and didn't find any leaking joints.

Comment

Here is a rundown of the CNG components on the engine of a 1998-2002 Cavalier.

Most likely the "smell" is coming from the low pressure regulator. You will notice a vent on top of the regulator. A slight smell of NG is normal during start up. It should go away when the car is running.
        Attached Files
        Jared.
        Mountain Green, Utah
        2003 CNG Cavalier
        2003 CNG Silverado 2500HD

Comment