99 crown victoria adding more tanks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 99 crown victoria adding more tanks

hi im new to cng vehicles, i don't know much about them. i just found a cheap crown victoria im thinking of buying but the owner says it only gets 250km or 150 miles. ive been reading about cng cars im kind of interested in getting this one. the crown vic owner is also selling 5 cng tanks that came out of another car. i was wondering would i be able to install these into the 99 crown victoria? would i be able to do it myself? thanks in advance.

Re: 99 crown victoria adding more tanks

Babu,

My guess is that it will depend on whether you were planning on fueling at home or at a public filling station and how close is one to you. If you can fill at home every night, the range becomes less of an issue if you are going to use the vehicle as a commuter car for local trips each day. If you do add more tanks, then I believe it becomes a issue of room to install the tanks, being willing to give up the trunk space, and again where you are going to fill up. If you fill up at home, the home dispenser may not be able to fill up those tanks every night depending on how much you use that day.

I am interested in other responses.

Bob
    Bob Baldwin
    2009 Ford Focus Bi-Fuel
    2000 Ford F-150 Bi-Fuel

Comment

Babu ~

My daily driver is a '99 Crown Vic. It had a range of 150 miles before the extended range tanks were installed. My system now has a +/- 13 gge capcacity and I get about 250 miles between fueling stops. That addition took up most of my trunk space. Between the full-size spare tyre and the fuel tanks my trunk now only has enough room for one large suitcase.