Leaking fuel nozzle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leaking fuel nozzle

I am new to CNG vehicles and recently bought a used 2002 Ford F150 Bi fuel that runs great. Having only owned it for a week, I may not even get the terminology correct when describing my problem. It did not come with a dust cap, but I had no problems filling it up until after I took it camping (dirt roads).
    Words cannot explain how I felt after filling the CNG tank I heard a loud hissing sound coming from the filler nozzle on the truck! I had no clue what steps I should take. I still don't. The leak and the awful hissing sound eventually stops and I can drive the vehicle on regular gas with no problem. When I flip the switch on the dash to CNG and turn the key (not to the cranking of the engine), the hissing starts again from the filler valve. I turn the key off and eventually the hissing stops.
    Lacking a mechanics manual for the ford F150 (where can I purchase one?), I have used information from this site to hypothesize about the problem. I think the switch controls the solenoid. The solenoid, when open, charges the lines and the pressure causes the leaking fuel filler nozzle. If I knew the system I could deduce better which valves are failing, but I think there must be a valve in the fuel filler that is failing along with another check valve somewhere else in the line that is failing as soon as the solenoid is opened, also trips.
    I don't like this theory because it will probably cost me a lot of money. I read a thread about someone putting lip balm on the o-ring and fixing it. I think I like that solution much better than the one I am currently thinking of. Please, feel free to sound in on this. I have learned a ton just reading your past threads to others on this site. Thanks to all who contribute.

Re: Leaking fuel nozzle