Introductions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introductions

Hey folks, my name is Shep and I reside in Corvallis OR. I currently have two CNG vehicles I am working on: a 1996 F-150, 4.6L (factory GFI system) and a 1998 F-250, 4.6L (TechnoCarb Conversion). I am hoping to get these systems fully operational soon, and I am most interested in direct information relating to these vehicles and how I can fix them. I've already made a post in a different forum requesting the GFIP162 manual for the F-150. Happy to share what I know as well, but I'm fairly new to to this and may be getting a job in the industry soon as well.

- Shep

Welcome to CNGchat Shep!

As you are probably aware, public CNG refueling in the Willamette Valley is essentially limited to the one in Salem. And I should imagine the CNG tanks on these trucks are long expired - you should not fill them as they pose a safety risk. Tank replacement options are quite expensive. Sorry to throw cold water on your first post here but this is the reality of the situation.

The good news is that industry jobs for CNG techs are strong, as most trash trucks and transit buses are going to CNG. But as for consumer vehicles there is virtually nothing available from the OEMs currently. Proper training is essential, as things can go terribly wrong at 3600 psi if you don't know what you are doing...

We have two very active members in the forum here who live in Oregon. You may wish to send a private message to each:
    "cnguser" and "300mileclub"

Good luck and let us know how you get along.

Comment

Hey John,