Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CNG explosion and fire on a trash truck Investigation

Hello,

I am a lawyer and investigating a CNG explosion and fire on a Mac/Hyal trash truck utilizing an Agility CNG delivery system. We have reason to believe a hose failure contributed to the accident and also believe there may be other similar accidents and possible recalls. I am very new to this area and I am having trouble finding information. If anyone can point me in a good direction regarding similar accidents or general incident data about CNG/hoses/pressure relief devices that would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

Welcome to CNGchat Wapner!

There was a non-profit "Clean Vehicle Education Foundation" which up until a year ago or so investigated such incidents and wrote up reports on each. They are now part of NGV America but I don't see all of the reports online any more.
    http://cleanvehicle.org/

You might want to contact NGV America for follow-up. They are having their annual conference in a couple of weeks in Denver. I will be there too.
    http://ngvshow.com/

Best,
    John Mitton

Comment

Parts of comments included with the news link below about the 26 Jan 2016 incident:

It is obvious in this video that the fuel tank did NOT explode. All CNG fuel tanks have pressure relief valves which open and vent their contents once the pressure exceeds safe limits. Roasting a sealed bottle of CNG will definitely cause it to vent, at some point.

You can see the vapor cloud of expelled CNG surrounding the truck. Once the mixture of oxygen (from air), and CNG was at just the right ratio, the vapor cloud ignited. The force of this explosion is still notable, but it isn't like the bottle itself blew up.

http://www.nj.com/mercer/index.ssf/2...ton_house.html