Lower pressure CNG compressor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lower pressure CNG compressor

It is inefficient and costly to compress a gas, and then reduce the pressure so it can be used. I am a mobile locksmith in Salt Lake City. I use a Honda GX. I don't go more than 20 miles or so each time I leave home. I would like to have a home appliance that I could connect to my car to pressurize the tank to 1000 psi, or even 500, whenever I arrived back home.

If 3600 psi will power my car for 200 miles, it seems that 360 psi will make it go 20 miles. If someone would develop a compressor that was optimized to efficiently deliver gas at a lower pressure, I'd buy it. I would even install another tank in the back seat area, the car could travel twice as far. So, a couple questions for a compressor engineer. Why must we try to make a home appliance to fully fill the tank? What pressure could we expect from an efficient single-stage compressor?

You realize how oddball your request is, right? Less range intentionally? If you really want that, set up a timer to turn off the compressor after so many minutes. Starts and stops will do more damage than letting the compressor run to higher pressures IMO. Adding a tank can't save money compared with running the compressor for the same length of time at a higher pressure. CNG is dying a slow and painful death - there are few products available to serve the whole market let alone one guy's oddball desire.
    02 GX
    01 GX
    03 Crown Vic
    06 GX
    Home Fueler

Comment

I have considered this, and started a few threads in the past. 200 psi is really not usable and risks damage to the cat converters is you get very low on pressure and cause lean mixtures / misfire. Getting to 800 or 1,000 pst is usable, but requires a 3 stage compressor at minimum. Putting together a homebrew 3 stage compressor system would cost more than a good used fuel maker.