X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Converted low pressure air compressor

Hi All

Have been toying with the idea of a bi fueled vehicle for a while. The main problem with CNG was there is no fill stations close by.So with no way to fill your tanks a CNG vehicle is useless. I was waiting for the $500.00 home fill station to come about but we all know that aint gonna happen. I would even settle for a $1500.00 fill station. So what did I do, I built my own. Bought an inexpensive 2 cylinder compressor and converted it to a high pressure compressor capable of pumping pressures of 4500 lbs. I studied the bower series compressors how they worked and built one. I bought the 3rd stage cylinder head and valves built my own .500 inch bore piston and cylinder. bored and honed the cylinder built the piston and rings. It is a free piston design just like the bower. intercooler between the stages first stage has 275 LBS of pressure the second is 4500+ lbs a safety switch between the stages and one on the high pressure output set to 3600PSI
    second stage is also intercooled it pumps 1.5 GGE per hr the compressor turn 1100 RPM so its nice and quiet turning the compressor slow keeps the heat generated down to an acceptable level. It would have been easier to buy a breathing compressor and convert it for CNG even a bare bones high pressure compressor is $3000.00+ dollars.
    I have about $1500.00 tied up into building this one. Now I have all kinds of compressed CNG Now its time to convert the car over to CNG. most likley will use an impco set up. in my opinion they are old technology but well proven.would like to try one of those electronic ones that have a stepper motor valve and an oxygen sensor that can adjust the AF ratio.

Thanks DAS

Just my uneducated opinion

Re: Converted low pressure air compressor

I think you are going to have heat problems. I hope not but keep us posted good luck

Comment

post pics of this, seems interesting

Comment