filter wrench won't fit!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• filter wrench won't fit!

I am new to the GX (recently bought a used 2002 with 75k), and purchased genuine Honda oil and fuel filters to install. I really want to use the style of filter wrench that caps on the end of the cannister, but the standard offerings at my local parts stores don't fit the Honda filters! Both oil and low pressure fuel cannisters are the same size, but apparantly JUST off enough that the standard wrench won't fit. I tried three different brands at two different stores. Do I need to buy a special Honda brand wrench for this?

Both filters appear really hard to get to, can I do it with a standard strap wrench? Doesn't seem so, but if others say that's how they do it then I'll give it a go...

Thanks!

Re: filter wrench won't fit!

I bought the honda oem tool from one of the internet honda parts dealers can't remember if it was "h and a" or honda parts cheap. It fits both oil and cng filters like a glove. Almost impossable to change the low pressure cng filter without it. About $ 8 fits both exactly. Your dealer parts counter should be able to find it in the service tools section.

Uh, make that about $19 http://www.handa-accessories.com/civmaint01.html
    Last edited by Lakewood90712; 05-06-2011, 11:55 AM.

Comment

ok, bummer. It's not so much the cost, just that I've got all the parts (if I knew, I would have ordered the Honda wrench when I ordered all my other stuff online), got the car in the garage, and was going to do it this morning. Guess it'll have to wait a while.

Comment

Uh . . . make that about $27 with shipping. Probably better to get it locally if you really want it.

Comment