Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2005 4x4 Chevrolet 2500HD Dedicated

Hello,

I'm a veteran CNG user (I've owned a Honda 1999 CNG Civic since 2001 and I am contemplating the purchase of a truck that runs on CNG. I've had great experience with dedicated CNG vehicles and crappy experience with bi-fuels (my 1994 bi-fuel GMC 1500 Sierra turned out to be a total unserviceable lemon. Does anybody know about the vehicle I am contemplating a purchase on (2005 4x4 Chevrolet 2500HD Dedicated)? Some people have told me that Chevy never made dedicated but this vehicle proves this not to be true.....any thoughts? It only has 60k miles on it and looks like a decent deal for $12k....

thanks in advance!

Re: 2005 4x4 Chevrolet 2500HD Dedicated

governor
    My 2006 Silverado 4x4 extended cab is a fantastic truck (BI-fuel). It has dual separate injectors for each fuel type and I have not had any trouble with them. Decent range with the large CNG tank. The fuel mileage is not the best but for a 4:10 differiental gear ratio & 6.0L engine not too bad, top MPG on CNG is 16 mpg with 100% highway keeping the speed at reasonable MPH and about 12 MPG pulling a large atv trailer with some city driving mixed in. This truck starts instantly on CNG not unlike my 2001 cavalier that needs to be cranked a few seconds on CNG to start. I agree that Dedicated CNG is less things to go wrong, however, a couple times a year I take a longer trip where no CNG is available and would not be able to take the truck there with out some gasoline to get me by. Your choice of a 2005 Dedicated sounds like a good choice for your driving needs. Best Regards, Jon

Comment