1998 Ford E-350 Van Smog / Shudder issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1998 Ford E-350 Van Smog / Shudder issues

Hi - I'm new to CNG and hope this forum can help me. My auction bargain van did not pass smog. I learned it was missing so spent the time to change the spark plugs, O2 sensors, and drive belt while I was at it since I can't afford to pay someone to do it. Boy, did I learn something about van spark plug removal... The van has about 130,000 miles.

Problem 1: After reading the forum info. on fuel injector flushes and Coalescent/filter assemblies I promptly bought the filter and flush supplies and learned there is an electric tank shut-off valve in my 1998 Ford E-350. I disconnected the 'crash shut off' wires as instructed and after running the vehicle, starting and restarting for 20 minutes, it never seemed to run out of fuel in the lines. Am I missing something here? I've seen the big nut on the main tank (won't touch it! - two axillary tanks in the rear) referred to on this forum and have not found any manual valves on the system.

Problem 2: New spark plugs and O2 sensors installed - now when I drive it the van shudders between 35 and 45 MPH (Third gear - tested on hill - it is an automatic) but operates fine at every other speed/gear. I may be asking for guesses on this one but I'm hoping someone has had a similar experience. Is this transmission sensor issue, Fuel Injectors (not flushed yet), Catalytic Converters plugged (fearfull - there are three), or does the compuvalve (just read the thread) have something to do with it?

A little frustrated but not giving up... Can you offer any solutions/suggestions?

Thanks,

Catwoman
    California

Re: 1998 Ford E-350 Van Smog / Shudder issues